Guidelines for ASTI Members Serving on NCCA Structures

Guidelines for ASTI Members Serving on NCCA Structures

1. What is the NCCA?

The National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA) is a statutory body of the Department of Education and Skills. It was established under the Education Act, 1989. Under Section 41 of the Act, the object of the Council shall be to advise the Minister on matters relating to:

(a) the curriculum for early childhood, primary and post-primary schools
(b) the assessment procedures employed in schools and examinations on subjects which are part of the curriculum.

2. Who does the NCCA represent?

The twenty-five members of the Council are appointed by the Minster for a three-year term. The NCCA is representative of the partners in education and other bodies, including the Department of Education and Science, State Examinations Commission, the education unions - ASTI, INTO, TUI and IFUT, school managerial bodies, parent organizations, the social partners – ICTU and IBEC.. The Council also includes one nominee each of the Minister for Education and Skills and the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs.

3. Who is on the NCCA Council?

NCCA Council 2019-2022

4. What are the Structures of the NCCA?

The work of the Council is conducted through Subject/Programme Development Groups and Boards of Studies. The Development Groups focus on the development of subject specifications and assessment guidelines. The Boards of Studies of Studies focus on broader curriculum issues at Junior and Senior Cycle while also have oversight over the draft specifications and assessment guidelines prepared by the Development Groups. The representative structure of the NCCA Council is broadly replicated on the Boards of Studies and Subject Development Groups.

5. What practical resources does the NCCA provide?

Because the NCCA is the statutory body for the development of curriculum content and assessment guidelines, it has a dedicated website providing detailed information on curriculum and assessment for each subject and programme at second-level. The information is presented across three strands – subject specification, assessment guidelines, examples of students’ work. See