Department of Education Inspectorate

Click here for Circular cl0041/2020 on arrangements for Inspection and School Self-Evaluation for the 2020/2021 School Year.

The Inspectorate is a division within the Department of Education and Science and at present has a complement of 150 primary and post-primary inspectors.  While inspectors are generally recruited to work in either the primary or post-primary sector, the work of the Inspectorate is managed as a unified service, headed by the Chief Inspector and organised into two subdivisions, Regional Services and Policy Support, each headed by a deputy chief inspector.

The Inspectorate has a statutory quality assurance obligation in relation to educational provision, as set out in section 13 of the Education Act, 1998.  The Act defines the functions of an inspector in his/her dealings with teachers, schools and school management, and outlines the duty of the Inspectorate in advising the Minister.  Other legislation, such as the Education Welfare Act, 2000 also has a direct bearing on the work of the Inspectorate.

For more information see: