National Council for Curriculum and Assessment

The role of the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment is to lead developments in curriculum and assessment and to support the implementation of changes resulting from this work. The NCCA works in a spirit of consensus and partnership. It seeks to promote an innovative and creative environment for all learners in schools and other educational settings.

The Council is a representative structure, the membership of which is determined by the Minister for Education and Science. The 25 members come from organisations representing teachers, school managers, parents, employers, trade unions, early childhood education, Irish language interests and third-level education. Other members include representatives of the Department of Education and Science, the State Examinations Commission and a nominee of the Minister. The membership of the current Council, which was appointed for a three-year term to 31 March 2012, is as follows:

Dr. Tom Collins, Chairperson
Ms. Eilis Humphreys, Deputy Chairperson, Joint Managerial Body
Ms. Catherine Byrne, Deputy Chairperson, Irish National Teachers’ Organisation
Mr. Donal Cooper, National Parents Council Primary
Mr. Michael Delargey, Irish Federation of University Teachers
Mr. Aidan Farrell, State Examinations Commission
Ms. Bernie Judge, Teachers’ Union of Ireland
Mr. Declan Kelleher, Irish National Teachers’ Organisation
Ms Moira Leydon, Association of Secondary Teachers, Ireland
Ms. Rose Malone, Irish Congress of Trade Unions
Ms.Hilary Mc Bain, Church of Ireland Board of Education
Mr. Stephen Mc Carthy, Irish Vocational Education Association
Ms Patricia Mc Crossan, National Association of Boards of Management in Special Education
Mr. Jim Moore, National Parents Council Post-Primary
Mr. Joe Moran, Association of Secondary Teachers, Ireland
Mr. Éamonn Murtagh, Department of Education and Science
Ms. Sheila Nunan, Irish National Teachers’ Organisation
Tomás Uas Ó Ruairc, Foras na Gaeilge
Mr. Tim O’Meara, Teachers’ Union of Ireland *
Sr. Betty O’Riordan, Catholic Primary Schools Managers’ Association *
Ms. Eileen Salmon, Association of Community and Comprehensive Schools
Mr. Heino Schonfeld, Office of the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs
Mr. Frank Turpin, Irish Business and Employers Confederation
Mr. Paul P. Tyrrell, Joint Managerial Body
Máire Áine Uí Aodha, Ministerial Nominee

ASTI Representation on the NCCA

The ASTI has two representatives on each of the NCCA’s committees and on its Council. This direct representation gives the teaching profession a strong voice in the development of curriculum and assessment policy and content. The experience and expertise of the classroom teacher is vital to the work of the NCCA. Subject teachers are invited to examine the documentation posted in this section and submit their views, proposals, etc., to ASTI representatives at

ASTI has a number of Subject Convenors and Second Representatives who sit on NCCA course committees. A full list is available here. Please forward your feedback for the Convenor and Second Representative to

For more information visit