Teaching Council

The Teaching Council was established on March 1st 2006. The purpose of the Teaching Council, as set out by the Teaching Council Act 2001, is to

  • Regulate the teaching profession and the professional conduct of teachers
  • Establish and promote the maintenance and improvement of standards of 
  • programmes of teacher education and training 
  • teaching, knowledge, skill and competence of teachers
  • professional conduct of teachers
  • Promote the continuing education and training and professional development of teachers.

The Teaching Council is an autonomous, independent body designed to oversee the self regulation of the teaching profession. However, in performing its functions, the Council must implement the Minister’s policies relating to teacher education and training, probation, qualification, professional conduct and standards of teaching. In advising the Minister it must have regard to the implications of its advice for the resources that are available and to the practical implementation of any advice.

For details on requirement to register with the Teaching Council click here.

Membership of Teaching Council

The Teaching Council consists of 37 members. Registered teachers are represented by 22 members as follows:


NameNominating body/Constituency Elected
Deirdre O'ConnorINTO
Declan KelleherINTO
John HolianASTI
Noelle MoranASTI
Claire MarkeyTUI
Gerry QuinnTUI
Dr. Padraig O'DuibhirColleges of Education
Prof. Anne O'GaraColleges of Education
Prof. Mary O'SullivanUniversities and named third level colleges
Dr Mary FlemingUniversities and named third level colleges
Ferdia KellySchool management - post-primary (JMB)
Pat GilmoreSchool management - post-primary (ETBI)
Yvonne Ni MhurchuSchool management - post-primary (Gaelscoileanna)
Aine LynchNational Parents Council (primary)
Paul MooneyNatioanl Parents Council (post-primary)
Michael DelargeyICTU
Frank TurpinIBEC
Martin LallyMinisterial Appointment
Gregor KerrElected Teacher, Dublin, Primary
Marie LineenElected Teacher, Dublin Primary
Karen DevineElected Teacher, Connaught /Ulster, Primary
Eamonn ShaughnessyElected Teacher, Connaught/Ulster, Primary
Colm HarteElected Teacher, Leinister, Primary
Catherine DoolanElected Teacher, Leinister, Primary
Sean McMahonElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Tracie TobinElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Seamus O'ConnorElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Mairead GlynnElected Teacher, Ireland, Post-Primary, Community & Comprehensive
Denis MagnerElected Teacher, Leinster, Post-Primary, VEC
Seamus O FearraighElected Teacher, Connaught/Munster/Ulster, Post-Primary, VEC
Patricia DuffyElected Teacher, Leinister Post-Primary, Voluntary
Sean O'NeillElected Teacher, Leinster Post-Primary, Voluntary
Elizabeth Cooney

Elected Teacher, Connaught / Munster / Ulster, Post-Primary, Voluntary

Niall DuddyElected Teacher, Connaught/Munster/Ulster, Post-Primary, Voluntary


For more information visit www.teachingcouncil.ie.